Did Starbucks Go Wrong?

Do any of you remember the logo blunder that GAP had? Check this out if you donโ€™t http://money.cnn.com/2010/10/08/news/companies/gap_logo/index.htm It was a bad idea by GAP, and they quickly decided to not go forward with the logo after all the backlash that they got online because of it. It reminded me of a logo that a software company would have, not a clothing company.

 

Starbucks just announced their new logo on Wednesday, some people hate it, some people like it, or at the very least don’t mind the change. Personally I don’t like it that much, although, I don’t hate it either. It looks very out-of-place without a border, and I don’t really believe that the symbol is as recognizable as say Nike, or Apple. No I think that they got rid of the single most recognizable thing about their company… their name. They don’t have an exceptional product. So without their name, then what are they?

 

Self-described Starbucks fanatics were not impressed, and posted hundreds of comments on Starbucks’ web page explaining their outrage. MimiKatz wrote, “Who’s the bonehead in your marketing department that removed the world-famous name of Starbucks Coffee from your new logo? This gold card user isn’t impressed!”

 

Another Starbucks fanatic wrote, “I have been a big supporter of Starbucks since the early days, taken expensive rides in taxis to get my morning coffee, even waded through two feet of snow in my business suit … but I do not see the logic of your Business Development folks for the removal of the Starbucks name.”

 

My wife said, “It reminds me of a logo that would go on a white bag of all-organic-recycled-cowdung-potting-soil-for-your-yuppy-garden.”

 

The CEO of Starbucks, Howard Schults said on the Webcast, “Even though we have been, and always will be, a coffee company and retailer, it’s possible we’ll have other products with our name on it and no coffee in it.”

 

Personally I think they are trying to force their logo to become so recognizable that they don’t even need words for people to know who and what they are. They might also be trying to give a sense of sustainability by making their logo completely green. Here is a funny image of what their logo will become in the coming years.

 

So tell me what you think about the logo in the poll, I would also love to hear what you have to say about it in the comments section, and if I haven’t met you yet, then please introduce yourself.

 

