Imported From Detroit

There was a lot of talk around the VW Darth Vader commercial during the Super Bowl this year, and a lot of other car commercials that aired during the Super Bowl as well. While the VW Darth Vader commercial was my favorite one due to how funny it was, and how I could see my best friends kids acting when him and his wife have kids. The Chrysler commercial with Eminem, was very inspiring. Maybe this is because I have a man crush on Eminem, but I don’t think so, because I hated his Lipton Iced Tea commercial.

I think it was inspiring by the way that they did not focus so much on the car, but rather where it came from, and the ideals that you stand behind when you purchase one. It focused on a city dedicated to the American people, and it focused on getting us back to where we need to be. And yes you could yell and scream about how much money they spent on purchasing the 2 minute long spot during the Super Bowl, and on top of that how much money they probably had to pay Eminem to do the commercial, but lets just be honest. We all already know that yes they owe the government and the American people a lot of money, so paying for all that Super Bowl commercial time does seem like a waste. However, what better way to sell cars than to purchase a spot on the most widely watched event of the year? The commercials of the Super Bowl are also the most heavily talked about commercials for weeks and weeks after the Super Bowl takes place. So is it really money wasted? Sure it probably is if the commercial was not very good, and yes maybe you didn’t like the commercial.

Personally I liked the commercial due to the fact that it was different from all the rest. It was personal, inspiring, and emotional. It did not try to be like the rest of the commercials, which is a good thing I think, because it sends the message that it is a different car than all the rest. Would I buy a Chrysler car? I don’t know, probably not, but who really knows. I did like the commercial though, and thought the tag line really resonated well, “Imported From Detroit.”

So tell me, what did you think of the commercial? Did you love it? Did you hate it? Why?

Sincerely,

The Green Guerilla

