Life In The Fastlane

I have commented on my love for Twitter a few times here on this blog, and today is not going to be any different. After the events of last night I am very impressed with Twitter. We learned of the death of Osama Bin Laden even before it was announced on news outlets. It is amazing that a guy in the very city that the attack was going down in was Tweeting about it before he even knew what was actually happening. Then someone else on Twitter picked up that guys feed, and put two and two together, and before the president even announced what had happened the world already knew that Bin Laden had been killed.

I am still struggling a bit with the idea that we are excited and celebrating the death of another human being, but yet at the same time this human being killed so many innocent people it is hard not to be relieved that he is gone. However, that is not what this post is about. This post is about the speed at which we get our news today.

At this very moment I am also listening to a live broadcast from LA called #IdeaJam. The topic is on, “how can we help prepare students for the future and encourage them to dream bigger, think creatively, and come up with the innovative solutions?” At the same time, comments and questions are being streamed and posted on the comment feed on YouTube, and they are also using the #IdeaJam hashtag in order for people around the world to ask questions. They are getting questions from Sri Lanka about math. It is amazing to me when you can do a live broadcast event in LA and get real-time questions from Sri Lanka.

The one downside, I think, to the speed at which we take in information today, is that we no longer have any time to process and digest the information that we are taking in, it is just a constant flood of information. We are often only given just a few minutes to take in the information, process it, and digest it before we are forced on to the next bit of information. Now I grew up in the country where things were much slower than they are in the city, we also didn’t have the technology like we do today. Sometimes my brain gets overwhelmed with all the information constantly streaming through it, and sometimes because of this I long for things to slow down like they were when I was growing up. I used to laugh when I would hear older people complaining about computers, but sometimes now I understand their pain. Yet I also love how fast we can get information, and I also love how much easier it is for people networking with professionals to be heard and find ways to stand out from the crowd. I find myself pulled in two different directions, wanting to be completely unplugged from technology and throw my computer and cell phone out the window, and wanting to be even more connected with people and technology.

What are your thoughts?

Sincerely,

The Green Guerilla

