What I have Been Doing Lately: Part 1

Now that I am back, I wanted to share with everyone what I have been up to lately. As most of you know I am finishing up my undergraduate degree at PSU right now, double majoring in Marketing and Advertising Management. The end is finally in sight, my last full term of classes will be this fall, and then I will have one or two night classes in the winter to be completely done. As most of you know the road to graduation, and to starting your career is not an easy one by any means. I can tell you for sure, that has not changed.

So I wanted to take some time and share with you what my life has been like, since I have been gone. First of all I set off to build a website that would house my blog, my résumé, a portfolio of work, and a bit about me. That task has proven to be much harder than I imagined it would be, and that is probably because I am a lot more picky than I thought I would be about how the site looks. While doing that I was also very busy with school, and with networking. Thankfully I was told early on when I got back into school that I needed to start networking with professionals in the Marketing and Advertising industry. Sadly, this is something that most college students are not taught. However, with this task in mind I set out to start meeting people. Most of you know that I turned to Twitter for this networking challenge, and it has proven to be one of the most successful tools for networking that I have found so far. Through people who I have met on Twitter, and then later met in real life, I have expanded my network of professionals. Below is a list of people I have met in real life, and a bit about them. This is a list of people who I did not already know, previous to meeting them on Twitter. Some of them are people who I have met because of someone else on Twitter.

Alisha Hemmingson Runckel

Website: alisharunckel.com

Twitter: @AHemmingson

I don’t really remember how Alisha and I got connected on Twitter. Regardless of how it happened, epic 140 character conversations always take place between the two of us, and whoever else is chiming in. She is always more than willing to carry on a conversation with anyone on Twitter. After getting to know her for a bit, I explained to her that I was trying to expand my network with marketing and advertising professionals, and was wondering if she would be willing to sit down and help me out.  I met Alisha in real life at a coffee shop on the Portland State University campus. She was eager to figure out my life story, and what I was hoping to do with my life, and my career. Quickly she set about giving me lists of networking events I needed to attend, and started introducing me through email to some professionals in the industry that she knew. She has been very supportive in my search for my career.

Ben Samples

Twitter: @BenZee

Ben started following me when I started following the agency he works for here in Portland, @CMDPortland one day he posted a picture with a funny tag line, and I commented on it. That is when we started talking, I then met him at an agency tour that the AMA and the PRSA went on at CMD. We got to chatting, and then he ran upstairs to grab me a CMD branded mole skin notebook, because he saw that I was carrying one that was not branded. Sometime after that he and I went and grabbed a beer together, and he set out to help me build my website (which I have not finished yet). He has been super helpful to bounce ideas off in my search for a career when I am done with college. He is also just a fun guy to chat with on Twitter.

Karyn Fiebich

Website: karynfiebich.com

Twitter: @kfiebich

Honestly I have no idea how Karyn and I started following each other on Twitter (if you can’t tell already my mind is NOT a steel trap). I just know that we had been chatting on Twitter for a bit, getting to know each other, and enjoying the content and info one another was sharing. One day I got a message in my email telling me that @LIKEcompany was following me. At the time there was not a single person following LIKEcompany, and there had been no tweets from the account yet. I assumed that it was a spam account, because there was no profile description either. So I sent a mention to the company, and Karyn messaged me back, it didn’t take me long to put two and two together and come up with three, that it was Karyn’s company. So I followed them back and sent out a message to all of my followers to follow LIKEcompany as well. I was their first loyal follower. LIKEcompany is an awesome project headed up by Karyn Fiebich, and Sami Ewers, who I will talk about next. I met Karyn for drinks, because she and Sami offered to buy me a drink for being their first follower on Twitter, Sami couldn’t make it, but Karyn and I ended up having a great time getting to know each other, and learning about all the projects going on, and life stories of the other person. Karyn promised that we would get together again when Sami could actually make it.

Sami Ewers

Website: samiewers.weebly.com

Twitter: @samiewers

I met Sami through Karyn, and since then have had a great time getting to know her on Twitter. She is Karyn’s partner in crime at @LIKEcompany, and her and Karyn seem to be a dynamic duo for sure. I finally met Sami in real life while having drinks with Karyn, and Johnny Tran, who I will talk about next. Sami is also a writer for Wend Magazine, which is a local outdoors magazine here in the NW. It has been great getting to know Sami, as she has a kind heart, and is awesome at what she does. I don’t know her as well as I have gotten to know Karyn, but I am looking forward to getting to know her better than I already do. I also hope there are many more Happy Hour’s to come!

Johnny Tran

LinkedIn: http://www.linkedin.com/in/johnnytran

Twitter: @johnnytran

Once again, this is a person that I don’t remember a specific time on Twitter that we started conversing, but regardless Johnny is a fun guy to interact with on Twitter. He is always ready to chat with people who will chat back, and always willing to share and retweet content that I have shared with my followers. Not only that, but he also has a lot of great content to share himself, and has a good head on his shoulders. I met Johnny in real life for the first time, the same evening that I met Sami for the first time, while having drinks with Sami and Karyn. He works for a company that sounds like it does some pretty cool work. The company has something to do with developing equipment that is used in the healthcare industry. If you get a chance, look Johnny up, you will be glad you did.

Reggie Wideman

Website: http://useless.posterous.com/

Twitter: @reggiewideman

After listening to my story Karyn introduced Reggie and I through email originally. Reggie was quick to set up a time that I could sit down for an informational interview with him, and quickly connected with me on LinkedIn and Twitter. Reggie is an Account Director at Tenfour, which is a local advertising shop here in town. Reggie was very interested in the work that I was doing with my current job, and the work that I did with FIR Advertising, he was very helpful in answering my questions about the advertising industry and things a college student can do to get ahead. He has also been very helpful in other ventures, and has introduced me to some other very interesting and knowledgeable people. Reggie’s sense of humor and energy is infectious and he is worth following.

If you don’t see yourself on this list, but you have met me in real life, then have no fear, this is only part one, tune in next time.

Sincerely,

The Green Guerilla

