It Was The Best Of Times

I am quickly approaching the end of my 20’s. It was the best of times, sort of. A lot of good things happened in my 20’s. I was legally allowed to drink, as if the law ever stopped me. I married the love of my life during the hottest day of the year, outside, in the sun. I didn’t care, the tears just mixed with the sweat. It was the best of times. I was laid off from a job I hated in an industry I hated, the same weekend my wife graduated from college. It was the best of times. We moved from the suburbs into the city, we don’t understand how we weren’t doing that the whole time. I decided to go back to school, I found my passion. It was the best of times. It was a long road through school, and very hard. Rallying back after flunking out the first time. I finally graduated. It was the best of times. My wife decided to go back to school for her Masters degree. I started my career. It was the best of times. I have seen the rise of social media, the rise and fall of CD’s and DVD’s, tapes and VHS, the rise of cell phones and smartphones and the fall of land lines, the decline of video rental stores and the incline of video streaming and Red Box. It was the best of times, but most of it has been chaotic, uncertain, and a blur.

Maybe those were the best of times, but I doubt it. I’ve never been able to envision life past my 20’s, maybe that’s because I lacked a future perspective. Everything I did was in the present. It will be the best of times. I ponder what my 30’s could hold, and I get excited. Buying our first home. Having kids. It will be the best of times. Refining my skills, and gaining new ones. Taking the world by storm. It will be the best of times. Growing closer to my wife and my friends. Letting go of friends who are no longer. Making new friends. It will be the best of times. Experiencing new places, new things. Fighting against this world’s hatred, and promoting love. It will be the best of times.

It was the best of times, but does it have to be the end of times? What about the future best of times? That is what I’m looking forward to.

Sincerely,

The Green Guerilla

